Who We Serve

The Caroline School Curriculum Summary

There are four main curriculum that we use at The Caroline School.  All curriculums are research based and developed for children with special needs.

F.A.C.E.S (Functional Academic Curriculum for Exceptional Students)

There are several main principles of the curriculum

  • * Educators must portray high student expectations and teach meaningful and functional skills necessary to develop independence.
  • *Parents must be involved throughout the education process in order to ensure the development of functional and pertinent objectives and the transfer of skills.
  • *Individual adaptations or modifications must be developed in order to meet student needs.
  • * Instruction in all areas must include development of appropriate behaviors and communication skills.
  • *Goals must be based and prioritized on their potential for enhancing independence.

The F.A.C.E.S curriculum is composed of six modules

  • 1. Personal Health
  • 2. Social Studies
  • 3. Vocational
  • 4. Science
  • 5. Math
  • 6. Language Arts (Reading)

The Carolina Curriculum

The Carolina Curriculum links assessment to intervention through hierarchies of developmental tasks that are both relevant to typical routines for young children and pertinent to long term adaptation.  The items in each developmental domain are subdivided into logical teaching sequences and the sequence is primarily determined by how one skill builds on another.  Modifications can be made to accommodate each child’s sensory or motor limitations.

There are six developmental domains

  • 1. Personal-Social
  • 2. Communication
  • 3. Cognition
  • 4. Fine Motor
  • 5. Cognition/communication
  • 6. Gross Motor


Edmark Reading Program

The design of the Edmark Reading Program provides intrinsic motivation through small steps.  The curriculum provides a carefully sequenced, highly repetitive sight-word approach that offers the highest probability of success.

There are five types of lessons throughout the program.

  • 1. Pre-reading
  • 2. Word Recognition
  • 3. Direction Cards
  • 4. Picture/Phase Cards
  • 5. Story Books

Handwriting Without Tears

Handwriting Without Tears provides a multisensory approach to teach to all learning styles.  While the curriculum is designed to teach handwriting skills it can also be modified for students with visual, physical and cognitive disabilities.

The curriculum incorporates tactile learning styles with the use of wood pieces to help form the letters.  The use of tactile discrimination of size and shape allow the children to feel the characteristics of the wood pieces.  The children also expand their vocabulary by consistently using words to describe the size and shape (big line, little line, big curve, little curve).  Manipulating the wood pieces allows for the teaching of basic fine motor skills.  Another skill that is incorporated at all teaching levels of Handwriting Without Tears is the language of position words.  Students become familiar with position words such as behind, between, beside, through, top, bottom, and middle by modeling/imitating the position request (ex. Put the big line behind you).  This skill can be taught independently or with hand over hand assistance.

Help Hope Answers

Special Thanks To Our Sponsors!

             BCBSTX logo      CTA     HHS Logo    TVC logo per guidelines     TVFA 2  BWF QHF Logo Lockup

        George Foundation Logo    GHCFLogo    MMc   Bank Logo with Member FDIC - Color

 cvs logo new 2015    Century21 logo    mass-mutual-logo    13200 

JEH LOGO NEW 2012 1MB     HADA Logo CMYK reflection

Easter Seals of Greater Houston, Inc.
4888 Loop Central Drive, Suite 200, Houston, TX 77081 | Ph: 713.838.9050 | Fax: 713.838.9098  
Easter Seals Greater Houston is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.
*Clients are rendered services without distinction due to race, color, national origin, religion, sex or disability. 



 BBB 2020  Charity Navigator Encompass GiveWithConfidence 100givz